I adore Hot Cross Buns, so I decided to put my bread maker to good use and give some ago. Rebecca my four and three quarters year old niece and Rhys my 3 and a half year old nephew were there to give me a hand.

I just used the recipe in my bread maker booklet, when I make them again, I think I will add more fruit and more spices.

3 t Surebake yeast

450 g White flour

3 T Brown Sugar

6 T Butter

1/2 t salt

3 t mixed spice

1 T orange Zest

1 egg

2 T milk powder ( I use fresh milk instead)

200 ml Water (I don’t use milk powder, so I just use a combination on water and fresh milk to make up this 200 ml.

Throw all ingrediantes in the the listed order and set on a sweet dough cycle.

3/4 cup of Sultanas- added most of the way through the kneading cycle when beeps.

When done, place dough in a greased bowl and leave to rise for 20-30 min.

Then shape in to approx 12 buns (more or less depending on desired size) Cover and leave to rise in a warm place for 30-35 min, or until doubled in size.

Pipe on crosses ( made by mixing half a cup of flour with 2 T of oil and some water) Bake in a pre-heated oven (200C) for 15-20 min, untill golden brown. Brush with a glaze of 3 T of milk and 3 T of sugar boiled until syrupy.

Eat hot from the oven with lashing of butter and a nice cup of tea! YUM 



